Kentucky Military History Museum reopens
By 123rd Airlift Wing Public Affairs, Kentucky Air National Guard
/ Published January 23, 2010
FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The Kentucky Military History Museum at the Old State Arsenal in downtown Frankfort has reopened for public tours after undergoing renovations for the past two years.
Constructed in 1850, the Gothic-style building is located on Arsenal Hill and is part of the Kentucky Historical Society's "History Campus." Restoration work will continue well into 2010, and the building will likely be closed again at some point to make way for more extensive work. In the meantime, visitors can explore this structure and learn the history of the building and its grounds.
The first floor of the museum is now open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. every Saturday. Drop-in tours of the facility are free and open to the public.
The Arsenal is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is Kentucky's oldest National Guard facility. It once served as a warehouse for military equipment and munitions for the Kentucky State Guard. During the Civil War, it housed a cartridge factory that employed many women and became a point of defense for the Capitol. A fire in 1933 destroyed the roof of the building and damaged the second floor but left the first floor intact. The building was used as a storage facility until being tapped as the Kentucky Military History Museum in 1973.
Today, visitors to the museum will be able to view an exhibit that tells the story of the building and see a part of the old cartridge factory.
The museum is operated by the Kentucky Historical Society in partnership with the Kentucky Department of Military Affairs.
Parking is located adjacent to the building at 125 E. Main Street.
For more information, visit www.history.ky.gov